

## <u>News Release</u>

Subject: 2017 Primary Election Returns Contact: Communications & Public Affairs Director Randy Beehler – 901-1142 Release Date: Thursday, August 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2017

## **Third Count of Primary Election Returns Released**

The third count of returns for the 2017 Primary Election had little effect on the three Yakima City Council positions being contested when compared to the initial count on election night and yesterday's second count. Only the top two vote getters in each race move on to the November 7<sup>th</sup> General Election.

In Yakima City Council District 2, Pablo Gonzalez continues to lead and now has 35.27% of the vote compared to the 35.53% he had after the second count. Jason White has 23.43% (vs. 23.37% after the second count). Both Maud Scott and incumbent Councilmember Avina Gutiérrez have 20.53% of the vote (vs. 20.60% and 20.35% respectively after the second count).

Keith Effler continues to lead the six contenders in District 4 with 27.02% of the vote (compared to 27.33% after the second count). Kay Funk has 23.99% (compared to 24.05% after the second count). Chelsea Mack is next with 19.87% of the vote (compared to 19.61% after the second count). Tony Sandoval has 12.12% (compared to 11.62% on after the second count), Sandra Belzer has 11.45% (compared to 11.80% after the second count), and Williams has 5.05% (compared to 5.06% after the second count).

In District 6, Brad Hill now has 73.41% of the vote (vs. 74.03% after the second count), and Macaela Razo has 14.48% (vs. 13.94% after the second count). Joe Mann's name appeared on the ballot for District 6, but Mann withdrew from the race. His withdrawal took place too late to have his named removed from the official ballot. Mann has received 12.01% of the vote (vs. 11.92% after the second count).

Additional ballot counts will be conducted over the next few days. Ballot counts will continue periodically until all of the ballots that were received before the midnight August 1<sup>st</sup> deadline have been tabulated. The 2017 Primary Election will be certified on August 15<sup>th</sup>.