

Subject: Reception for Outgoing City Council Members Contact: Communications & Public Affairs Director Randy Beehler – 901-1142 Release Date: Monday, December 7th, 2015

Reception to be Held for Outgoing Yakima City Council Members

Combined, they have attended nearly 1000 City Council meetings and served on a total of more than 80 boards and committees. Each has contributed significantly to ensuring that critically needed investments were made in public services and infrastructure over the last few years.

And on Tuesday, December 8th, each will attend their final official business meeting as members of the Yakima City Council.

Micah Cawley, Rick Ensey, Dave Ettl, and Tom Dittmar will be recognized for their service during the December 8th City Council business meeting (which will begin at 2:00 pm) and during a **public reception immediately following the business meeting**. The reception will take place in the **City Council Chambers** at Yakima City Hall and is open to anyone who would like to offer their best wishes to the four outgoing Council members.

Cawley was first elected to the Yakima City Council in 2005. He won reelection in 2009 and again in 2013. Cawley was chosen by his fellow Council members to serve as mayor in 2010, 2012, and 2014.

Ensey won his first term on the Council in 2007. He was reelected in 2011.

Ettl was originally elected to the Council in 2009 and won a second term in 2013.

Dittmar was appointed to serve out the remaining two years of Councilmember Sara Bristolog term after she resigned at the end of December 2013 when she and her family moved to Oregon. Dittmar took office in January 2014.

Cawley, Ensey, Ettl, and Dittmar chose not to run for reelection this year after U.S. District Court Judge Thomas Rice ruled in February that the Cityos former Council member election system violated federal law and that all seven Council seats be opened for the 2015 election cycle.