

## News Release

Subject: 2016 General Election Returns Contact: Communications & Public Affairs Director Randy Beehler – 901-1142 Release Date: Tuesday, November 8<sup>th</sup>, 2016

## 2016 General Election Returns – Updated State Returns

The initial results of the 2016 General Election have been issued by the Yakima County Auditor's office. The Auditors office conducts only one count of ballots on election night and issues just one set of returns. Yakima County uses an all-mail-in voting system, so ballots that are postmarked before midnight on November 8<sup>th</sup> will still be considered valid for the General Election.

Tonights first count for Yakima County includes all ballots received by the Auditor's office through Monday, which represents about 20% of the ballots that have been issued.

In the Yakima County Commission District 1 race, incumbent Mike Leita (R) leads Eric Geary (R) 57.74% (18,667 votes) to 41.20% (13,319 votes).

In the Yakima County Commission District 2 race, Ron Anderson (R) has 53.85% of the vote (17,460 votes) compared to Debra Manjarrez (R) who has 45.18% (14,649 votes). The winner will replace Kevin Bouchey, who choose not to seek reelection.

Incumbent Yakima County District Court Judge . Dept. 3 Doug Federspiel leads his opponent, Alex Newhouse, 54.06% (18,148 votes) to 45.71% (15,343 votes).

Returns for races including counties other than Yakima County are updated below:

Incumbent 14<sup>th</sup> District State Senator Curtis King (R) leads challenger Amanda Richards (I-GOP 61.82% (16,298 votes) to 38.18% (10,066 votes).

Incumbent 14<sup>th</sup> District State Representative (Pos. 1) Norm Johnson (R) has garnered 66.06% of the vote (18,534 votes) while challenger Susan Soto-Palmer (D) has brought in 33.94% (9,524 votes).

Current 14<sup>th</sup> District State Representative (Pos. 2) Gina McCabe (R) has built a significant lead over John (Eric) Adams (D). McCabe has been supported by 68.30% of voters (19,096 votes) while Adams has pulled in 31.70% (8,864 votes).

Incumbent 15<sup>th</sup> District State Representative (Pos. 1) Bruce Chandler (R) was unopposed.

Incumbent 15<sup>th</sup> District State Representative (Pos. 2) David Taylor's (R) lead over his challenger, AJ Cooper (D), is 61.48% (10,790 votes) to 38.52% (6,761 votes) after tonights initial count.

In a rematch of the 2014 General Election race for the U.S. Representative . District 4 seat, incumbent Dan Newhouse (R) leads with 57.69% (68,361 votes) to Clint Didier's (R) 42.31% (50,131 votes) in districtwide voting.

Incumbent Washington State Governor Jay Inslee (D) has narrowed the lead Bill Bryant (R) had after initial counts. Bryant now has 50.63% (579,570 votes) to Inslee's 49.37% (565,230 votes) in statewide voting.

Incumbent U.S. Senator Patty Murray continues to lead her challenger, Chris Vance, 53.67% (614,867 votes) to 46.38% (531,848 votes) at the moment in statewide voting.

The 2016 General Election also features several additional races in Washington State for several statewide offices as well as five initiatives, two advisory votes, and a proposed state constitutional amendment. Full statewide results can be found on the Washington State Secretary of State's website - <u>http://results.vote.wa.gov/results/current/</u>

Full Yakima County results can be found on the Yakima County Auditor's website - <u>http://www.co.yakima.wa.us/170/Elections</u>

Vote updates will be provided by the City of Yakima Community Relations office as appropriate.