When you receive an infraction you have the following options:
Pay the Citation
Pay in full within 33 days of the date of violation. You may pay in person at the Yakima Justice Center, our window is open 9:00 – 11:00am and 1:30 – 3:30pm Monday through Friday, by mail with a check or money order, or by phone 509-575-3050 with debit/credit card from 8:00 am – 4:00 pm.
Request Monthly Payments
If you are unable to pay your ticket in full, we offer a monthly payment program. A $30 payment is required to begin our payment program within 30 days of the date of violation. Payments are then $30/month until paid in full. If you would like information on how to obtain a payment plan or how to submit evidence of inability to pay please contact the Yakima Municipal Court.
Requesting a hearing
You may request a hearing to contest or mitigate your citation by marking the appropriate box on your citation and mailing it to us or dropping it off the Yakima Justice Center offices within 30 days of the date of violation.
A Mitigation hearing is where you admit that you committed the violation, but wish to explain the circumstances of the infraction and request a reduction in the fine. Penalties on Infractions for Speeding in a School Zone cannot be reduced. You may appear before a judge for a hearing in person or may request a hearing by mail or email.
DEFERRED FINDING – A deferred finding may be an option if the following conditions are met:
- You have had no deferred findings in the last 7 years
- You have responded to your infraction within 30 days of its issuance
- You do not have a Commercial Driver’s License
- No Insurance and Negligent Driving 2 degree infractions are not eligible for deferral
Court Costs for deferred finding are $150.00 non-refundable. Understand that by requesting a deferred finding your infraction will be dismissed after one year of the date the deferral was granted, ONLY if the costs are paid in full and you have committed no other infractions during the deferral period. If these conditions are met, the infraction will be dismissed and not reported to the Washington State Department of Licensing. If the costs are not paid in full and you have committed another traffic infraction, the deferral will be revoked, the original amount of the infraction will be re-imposed, and the court costs prior or owing will not be applied as credit toward the original infraction amount. Additionally, the committed infraction will be reported to the Washington State Department of Licensing and will appear on your driving record.
If you believe you did not commit the violation then you may contest the infraction. If the infraction is found committed, the full amount of the penalty will be imposed. If it is found not committed the infraction will not be reported to the Washington State Department of Licensing. You may appear before a Judge for a hearing in person or you may request a hearing by mail or email. Contested Hearings by mail/email cannot be appealed and the Judge’s ruling is final.