Third Count of Primary Election Returns Released

A third count of ballots from the 2015 Primary Election has been completed and not much has changed in races for the six Yakima City Council positions from where things stood after yesterday’s second count. Only the top two vote getters in each race move on to the November 8th General Election.

In Yakima City Council District 1, Dulce Gutiérrez continues to build on her election night lead and now has 80.92% of the vote compared to the 80.79% she had after yesterday’s count. Russell Montiero has 10.57% (vs. 10.65% after the second count) and Llosimar Garcia has 5.29 (vs. 5.32% on Wednesday).

Following the third count of ballots, Avina Gutiérrez now has 36.38% of the vote in District 2 compared to the 36.45% she had after the second count. Maud Scott now has 29.77% (vs. 29.82% after yesterday’s count). Pablo Gonzalez is next with 20.82% (vs. 20.66% on Wednesday) followed by Edgar Moreno with 12.65% (vs. 12.67% after Wednesday’s count).

District 3 had the most candidates in the primary race with five. In District 3, Kelly Rosenow continues to lead with 28.90% of the vote (vs. 28.99% on Wednesday). Carmen Méndez now has 28.10% of the vote (vs. 28.11% after the second count), Patricia Byers has 23.46% (vs. 23.38% yesterday), Justin Cawley has garnered 9.88% (vs. 9.91% after Wednesday’s count), and Nicholas Kline has 9.01% (vs. 8.96% yesterday).

The four primary candidates in District 4 are still led by incumbent Councilmember Bill Lover with 51.96% (vs. 52.07% after the second count). Lover is followed by Tony Sandoval with 24.22% of the vote (vs. 24.26% on Wednesday), Tony Williams with 15.29% (vs. 15.39% after the second count), and Larry Breer with 7.25% (vs. 7.20% yesterday).

The District 5 primary returns continue to be led by incumbent Councilmember and current Assistant Mayor Kathy Coffey who has 51.54% of the vote compared to the 51.64% she had on Wednesday. Reed Pell has received 18.40% (vs. 18.46% after the Wednesday count). Phil Allard has the third most votes in District 5 with 16.66% of the total (vs. 16.53% yesterday). Gordon Heintzman has so far received 12.41% of the vote (vs. 12.38% on Wednesday).

Incumbent Councilmember Maureen Adkison leads her two District 6 challengers with 56.03% of the vote (vs. 55.97% after the second count). Gavin Keefe has 25.26% (vs. 25.65% on Wednesday) and Adam Yoest has received 17.52% of the vote (vs. 17.53% after yesterday’s count).

The District 7 race features just two candidates, Holly Cousens and Gunnar Berg, so no primary was needed in that district. Both Cousens and Berg will advance to the November General Election.

Additional ballot counts will be conducted over the next few days. Ballot counts will continue periodically until all of the ballots that were received before the midnight August 4th deadline have been tabulated. The 2015 Primary Election will be certified on August 18th.

2015 Primary Election Returns – News Release